Jesus takes center stage as Brazil wins Copa America

Listen to this article


It is Brazil’s first major title since they won the Copa America in 2007 and the first one for coach Tite, who took charge of the national team three years ago

Celebración de Brasil en la final de la copa América

Brazil’s Gabriel Jesus scored one goal, then he scored again and was sent off in the second half as they beat Peru 3-1 on Sunday to win the Copa America for the ninth time in a pulsating contest at the Maracana stadium.

The hosts took the lead after 15 minutes thanks to some brilliant skill from Jesus on the wing. The Manchester City forward bamboozled two defenders and crossed for the unmarked Everton to fire home from close range.

Peru had not won this tournament since 1975 and they bounced back quickly with an equalizer a minute before halftime when Paolo Guerrero scored from the penalty spot after Thiago Silva was adjudged to have handled the ball.

The goal was the first Brazil had conceded in six games since the Copa America began but it did not shake their confidence and they retook the lead moments later after a well worked move from midfield.

Roberto Firmino showed some nice skill on the right touchline and he fed Arthur who strode forward and fed Jesus, who coolly slotted the ball past a helpless Pedro Gallese.

Peru pushed forward in the second half and were thrown a lifeline with 20 minutes remaining when Jesus was sent off.

He had been felled by Carlos Zambrano a few minutes earlier and when Jesus dealt out his revenge he was immediately shown a second yellow to follow a first half caution for a bad tackle.

But Brazil, playing in front of a 70,000 crowd in Rio de Janeiro, had the final say when substitute Richarlison made it 3-1 with a penalty in the final minute of regulation time.

It was Brazil’s first major title since they won the Copa America in 2007 and the first for coach Tite, who took charge of the national team three years ago.

Also read: Messi says: 'This Copa América is structured to favor Brazil'

List of Copa America winners:

1916      Uruguay

1917      Uruguay

1919      Brazil

1920      Uruguay

1921      Argentina

1922      Brazil

1923      Uruguay

1924      Uruguay

1925      Argentina

1926      Uruguay

1927      Argentina

1929      Argentina

1935      Uruguay

1937      Argentina

1939      Peru

1941      Argentina

1942      Uruguay

1945      Argentina

1946      Argentina

1947      Argentina

1949      Brazil

1953      Paraguay

1955      Argentina

1956      Uruguay

1957      Argentina

1959      Argentina

1959      Uruguay

1963      Bolivia

1967      Uruguay

1975      Peru

1979      Paraguay

1983      Uruguay

1987      Uruguay

1989      Brazil

1991      Argentina

1993      Argentina

1995      Uruguay

1997      Brazil

1999      Brazil

2001      Colombia

2004      Brazil

2007      Brazil

2011      Uruguay

2015      Chile

2016      Chile

2019      Brazil


Reuters | Andrew Downie

More Articles
We use cookies to improve our website. By continuing to use this website, you are giving consent to cookies being used. More details…